7,159 MisOcc rice farmers receive subsidy from DA-10

By : Mindanao Today/10:58:12am 01/04/2022


Bonifacio and Tangub City in Misamis Occidental farmers receive cash subsidy from DA-10 under its RCEF-RFFA program. (Photo supplied)

CAGAYAN DE ORO CITY – In continuing efforts to aid rice farmers, the Department of Agriculture–Regional Field Office (DA-RFO)-10 launched its third wave of the Rice Competitiveness Enhancement Fund - Rice Farmers Financial Assistance (RCEF-RFFA) program in Misamis Occidental starting Monday, Dec. 27, in Tangub City.

Around 829 qualified rice farmers from Bonifacio and Tangub City received a total of P4.145 million worth of financial assistance under the RCEF-RFFA program.

Overall, 7,159 qualified rice farmers from the cities of Ozamiz, Tangub and Oroquieta, municipalities of Clarin, Panaon, Jimenez, Tudela, Lopez Jaena, Aloran, Sinacaban, Baliangao, Calamba, Concepcion, Sapang Dalaga, and Plaridel will benefit the program amounting to P37 million.

DA-10 Regional Technical Director for Operations Carlota S. Madriaga emphasized that the RFFA program is a special subsidy granted by DA to small rice farmers tilling two-hectare rice fields or lesser and are enrolled in the Registry System for Basic Sectors in Agriculture (RSBSA).

DA-10 Regional Executive Director Carlene C. Collado said the department in partnership with the Development Bank of the Philippines (DBP), through the universal Storefront Services, Corp., each rice farmer will receive P5,000 and Interventions Monitoring Card (IMC) which can be used as an identification card and cash card.

Meanwhile, Misamis Occidental Governor Philip Tan expressed his appreciation for the financial assistance his farmer-constituents have received.

“We are grateful for having been granted with the cash assistance of DA-10, and we hope that the department will continue to give its support to our farmers and the locals to utilize the money on essential needs,” the governor said.

Leading the program is RTD Carlota Madriaga, MisOcc. Governor Philip Tan, Tangub Mayor Jennifer Tan, Provincial Agriculturist Dennis Leopoldo, DA- 10 Rice Focal Person Chona Nacalaban, Chief, POC MisOcc. Sansen Tejano and the city local government unit of Tangub. (DA-10 | PIA-10)

Share this Article