4 more C-130 plane crash victims arrive in Cagayan de Oro

By : Jigger Jerusalem Mindanao Today/01:28:04pm 08/22/2021


Family members take a look at the remains of a soldier who was among the casualties of the C-130 plane crash in Sulu on July 4, 2021 at the 4th Infantry Division chapel Friday morning. (Photo courtesy of 4ID)

CAGAYAN DE ORO CITY – Four more C-130 plane crash victims have arrived in Cagayan de Oro City as the remaining nine Army personnel who perished in the mishap have already been identified, the 4th Infantry Division (4ID) said.

The 4ID said it provided arrival honors to the Philippine Army personnel upon the arrival of their remains at the Phil. Air Force’s Tactical Operations Group-10 airfield in Barangay Lumbia here Friday morning.

The remains were then brought to St. Ignatius de Loyola Chapel at the 4ID headquarters in Camp Evangelista, Barangay Patag for viewing.

The four cadavers belonged to Pvt. Erwin Canton, of Poblacion, Sibagat, Agusan del Sur; Pvt. Jhun Capagngan, Poblacion, Mahinog, Camiguin; Pvt. Mansueto Linagtong, Cambuayon, Bacuag, Surigao del Norte; and Pvt. Michael Dalore, of Sto. Niño, Bayugan, Agusan del Sur.

A mass was offered to the said the dead soldiers at the chapel and were subsequently accorded with full military honors afterwards as a ceremonial sendoff towards their respective residences.

Other Philippine Army personnel who were identified by the Phil. National Police crime laboratory in region 9 and were released for transport to places of residence.

They are Cpl. Dexter Estrada, of Paloyon, Nabua, Camarines Sur; Cpl. Gulam Ismael, Asturias, Jolo, Sulu; PFC Benjie Malanog, Tabuan, Tukuran, Zamboanga del Sur; Pvt. Mansueto Linagtong, Cambuayon, Bacuag, Surigao del Norte; and Cpl. Reynel Matundin, Katidtuan, Kabacan, North Cotabato.

Meanwhile, Maj. Gen. Romeo Brawner Jr., 4ID commander, said that the four soldiers are in addition to the 15 Army personnel who were earlier brought to their respective residences within the 4ID area of responsibility and were already laid to rest at their respective hometowns, as follows:

Sgt. Butch Maestro, or Cogon, Buenavista, Agusan del Norte; Pvt. Vic Monera, Dagumbaan, Maramag, Bukidnon; Pvt. Raymar Carmona, Sangay Kitcharao, Agusan del Norte; Pvt. Mel Mark Angana, Dumayas, Maligaya, Malaybalay City; Pvt. Mark Nash Lumanta, Dagumbaan, Maramag, Bukidnon; Pvt. Marcelino Alquisar, Poblacion, Impasug-ong, Bukidnon; Cpl. Jay-ar Obenita, Anibongan, Lianga, Surigao del Sur; PFC Carlos Dapanas, Tuod, Manticao, Misamis Oriental; PFC Philipp Dante Camilosa, Bit-os, Butuan City; Pvt. Carlos Jhun Paragua, Manila de Bugabus, Butuan City; Sgt. Nelson Hadjiri, Kadingilan, Bukidnon; Pvt. Joey Loterte, Salvacion, Prosperidad, Agusan del Sur; Cpl. Jerome Balivado, Alingit, Esperanza, Agusan del Sur; Pvt. Kevin Damole, Sampaguita, Kibawe, Bukidnon; Pvt. Jesfel Mequiabas, Mat-i, Claveria, Misamis Oriental.

The 4ID said the 38 Army troopers and 12 Air Force personnel out of the 96 total passengers who died from the C-130 plane crash in Patikul, Sulu have all been identified and accounted for.

Brawner has ensured the families of the killed soldiers that the 4ID will continuously extend needed assistance in the processing of respective benefits and claims of the beneficiaries.

“We really thanked the families for their patience and understanding for this challenging process. We our sincerely grateful for the sacrifice and service of our fallen heroes. May their soul rest in peace,” Brawner said.

“The outpouring of support and the heartwarming messages from different stakeholders have sustained the high spirit of our troops. As we get past this tragic chapter of our organization, we assure everyone that we are more motivated committed in our quest for peace and development,” he added.

Share this Article